Weekly Photo Challenge: Inspiration

on

I’m not a good traveller. I like to travel though. I immensely enjoy visiting new places. My sister and I make it a point to go on a vacation at least twice a year. On rare occasions even thrice. But I suffer from motion sickness. I found that out the hard way. On a vacation. In Mauritius. Cruising along winding roads (you can read about it here). So hill stations, bobbing boats, air conditioned buses on winding roads, reading while travelling and of course plain winding roads (without the reading too) etc. are all out for me. My next vacation spot was Ladakh. Hills, mountains, winding roads… you name it, they’ve got.

“Life begins at the end of your comfort zone.” — Unknown.

The long and winding road…
1-17 View from the Pass
You see those squiggly lines… that’s the path we took to reach Khardung La.

So with a bit of early preparation, medication and the journey is not always bad. Although during the journey I’m all “never again… never again!!” But it is views like these that INSPIRE me to plough through and continue to travel.

The hills are alive... at Manali.
The hills are alive… at Manali.
1-IMG_0208
View from Solang Valley, Manali
View from Solang Valley, Manali
View from Solang Valley, Manali

I have been on numerous holidays where I’ve had to pop in a pill, sometimes more than one in a day, to combat motion sickness. Almost starving myself was another thing. I couldn’t eat. I didn’t want to coz I was afraid of the nauseous feeling or worse, throwing up! I would kid around saying “the secret of me being thin is TRAVEL.” But once I’m out of the vehicle, looking at the gorgeous view that I am surrounded by, all those feelings just melt away and I’m struck by the sheer beauty of our planet.

The view next morning... After an almost eight hour journey from Manali to Dharamsala.
The view next morning… After an almost eight hour journey from Manali to Dharamsala.
Oh! Just look at that sky :)
Oh! Just look at that sky 🙂 (Dharamsala)

Travelling – it leaves you speechless, then turns you into a storyteller.” — IBN Battuta.

Near Sacred Grove in Mawphlang. (Shillong)
Near Sacred Grove in Mawphlang. (Shillong)

1-IMG_0478

2 Comments Add yours

  1. Tina Schell says:

    Beautiful post. Good for you for overcoming the obstacles to reach some lovely rewards!

    Like

    1. Thank you so much, Tina 🙂 Those rewards are totally worth it.

      Like

Leave a Reply

